The Next Step

A wise man (Dr. Jim Reed) once told me, if you stay in one place too long, you grow stale. That is why at the end of the last academic year, I choose to change the direction of my life, and thus changing my college experience forever. Dr. Reed was right: I had become stale, but it was much more than that. I was so tired of doing the same repetitive acts everyday, taking what seemed like the same course over and over; I was burned out.

It became clear to me that I needed a change. But how was I suppose to leave what I had grown so accustomed to behind? Well, that is why having a strong support system helps you so much. I know I can go to my counselor Scott Schulz with anything, and he will help me decide what is best for me at this time. So that is what I did, I sought counsel in all of those that I trusted, and talked to someone, who with a few simple words motivated me to make the change. (I’ll mention that later). So I switched my major, left the association which had become a part of me, and headed for what I felt deep inside me was the next step in my life, the GCC Forensic Speech and Debate Team. When you join a new association, enter a new department, it opens you up to a whole new world of people, personalities, beliefs, morals, worldviews etc.

In all honesty, in every sense of the word, it’s an honor to associate with the likes of Dr. Reed a great motivator, student advocate, and a deep loving caring man. All of the Forensic coaches, they always push you to your best. The entire team, we are as strong as a support system can get. And Kurt Shineman who first motivated me to join, when I was unsure if I could do it.

GCC is such an opportunity, you never quite know what direction you’ll go, but any way you turn, you will be in great company.

Leave a Reply

